Changes to the electoral system

The four-year term of office for all 49 current States Members ends in June 2022, and there will be some significant changes to the make-up of Jersey’s next elected parliament, as well as how Islanders will be asked to vote.

Changes to the Law, voted in by the current States Assembly in 2021, mean that the next States Assembly will:

  1. No longer include the role of Senator (currently there are eight Senators with an Island-wide mandate).
  2. Comprise nine, newly formed, electoral constituencies for the election of Deputies.
  3. Include 37 Deputies (currently there are 29), who will each represent one of the nine electoral constituencies.

NB. The 12 Parish Constable roles remain unchanged, meaning there will still be 49 elected representatives in total.

Constituency Map

Register for updates

Your name and email address will be held securely by the States Greffe and used only for the purpose of sharing election updates.

Register for updates

Please choose: