About the States Assembly

The States Assembly is Jersey’s elected parliament.

The States Assembly is responsible for:

  • making new laws and regulations
  • approving the amount of public money to be spent by the States every year
  • approving the amount of tax to be raised
  • holding Ministers to account

The States Assembly is made up of 49 States Members, including:

Deputies are elected to represent the interests of their constituency or Parish in the States as well as engaging in wider issues affecting the whole island. Since 2022, some Parishes with a large population have more than one Deputy and some, for example St. Helier, are divided into multiple constituencies. Parishes with smaller populations have been amalgamated into a constituency with two or three parishes included.

Constables – also known as Connétables. There is one Constable per parish in Jersey, and they have a dual role as both head of the Parish and States Member.

The Assembly appoints the Chief Minister and Ministers to form the Government of Jersey. It also appoints the chairs and members of various Scrutiny committees and panels. The Assembly can also remove members from these positions.

The Assembly debates a wide variety of policy matters which can be brought forward for debate by the Council of Ministers, by Ministers or by individual members. Members are also able to ask questions to find out information and to hold Ministers to account.


Constituency Work

All States Members work directly with residents of their district/constituency to help them resolve any problems.

Their work can involve helping constituents directly such as making sure that they get the correct social security benefits, or resolving a planning dispute. Members receive many phone calls and emails from constituents on a daily basis.

States Meetings

The States Assembly meets every three weeks, with breaks at Christmas, Easter and during the summer.

Members need to read and research the main issues to be debated so that they can participate in the discussions and bring amendments if their constituents would be disadvantaged by any proposals, or where their constituents have expressed strong views.

States meetings typically start at 9:30am and usually finish around 5:30pm but last as long as it takes to finish debating all matters on the Order Papers, which are published on the States Assembly website. You can watch meetings live online or catch-up by watching recordings of the meeting on the States Assembly website.

Ministers, Committees and Scrutiny Panels

Many Members are appointed to specific roles, which include:

  • Minister
  • Assistant Minister
  • Chairman/member of the Public Accounts Committee
  • Planning Applications Panel
  • Scrutiny Panel
  • Privileges and Procedures Committee

These roles involve participating in meetings, making decisions on policy, scrutinising policy and improving procedures.

States Members’ telephone numbers are found in the front of the telephone directory, and full contact details are listed on the States Assembly website. The public can contact any of the States Members for help.